Running Stories : Lee Kemp

When I first has the idea of doing this new section of my blog it was inspired by Michele and Lee.  I love hearing how people get into running and what inspires them.  It’s so inspiring to hear.  So here is the second instalment of Running Stories:

What made you get into running?

I wanted to get fit and lose weight so I decided to run a local 5km in Heathfield, it was tough and I doubted I would finish it but I did.  I was so proud of my first medal and seeing my mum waiting at the fishing line looking so proud.
FullSizeRender.jpg
My first ever race in 2013

What has been your proudest/best running moment?

My first marathon was a proud moment.  I had done a few 10km and halfs, I doubted I was ready.  It was the Brighton marathon and my family all came to see me.  It was an amazing experience, great crowds and the charity really cheered me on.  It was an amazing feeling crossing the finish line.

What has been the biggest challenge you have faced?

My biggest challenge was getting fit when I started my running journey.  I was very overweight and unfit and I struggled a lot but running and exercise has helped me.  I’ve lost 5 stone and now feel lot fitter and healthier.

Who is your inspiration and why?

I have to say my Dad, he comes to lots of my races and always says how proud he is and it’s a special bond we have.  It’s nice he always wants to come and support me.
IMG_3162.JPG
At the finish line of my first marathon in 2016

What are your future goals?

There is still loads I want to achieve in running.  Now I’ve done over 50 races I would like to run abroad again and do more ultra marathons, I’ve done 3 so far.

What would be your advice to somebody looking to start running?

My one piece of advise is to find a race and believe in yourself, don’t worry about how long it will take just take your time, this could be the start of a great journey.

What is your favourite thing about running?

My favourite thing about running is its shown me I’m more capable of a lot more than I thought I was.  From that first race to now over 50 races it’s been a great journey and the people I’ve met along the way from this amazing community.
IMG_3165.JPG
Running has helped with my weight loss. I  feel fitter, healthier and happier.

 

You can follow Lee on Twitter HERE

Leave a Reply

