My Favourite Running Books

I love reading.  I’ve always read a lot and when I got into running I started reading a lot about running!

People are often asking for book recommendations so here’s my favourites that should keep you all busy for a while.

Please do leave comments of your favourites & recommendations too.

Happy Reading x

In no particular order (except the top 3 are my favourites):

Born to Run by Christopher McDougall : Rightfully referred to as the running bible- if you haven’t read this you need to!

Runner: A short story about a long run by Lizzie Hawker: I LOVE this book.  It’s a pretty inspirational read & inspired me to do the Nepal Marathon.

Run The World by Becky Wade.  This is a great read.  Lot of insights into different approaches to running around the world.

26 Miles to the Moon: The Great Space Race Is On! by Andrew Males: There aren’t many running fiction books (that I know of anyway) & this is a great one.

Don’t Stop Me Now by Vassos Alexander.  I really enjoyed this one.

The Ghost Runner: The Tragedy of the Man They Couldn’t Stop by Bill Jones.  A really interesting read.  I had no idea about this story and it’s one of perseverance and injustice.

Keep on Running: The Highs and Lows of a Marathon Addict    by Phil Hewitt

Natural Born Heroes: The lost secrets of strength and endurance by Christopher McDougall.  Another great book from the author of the running bible (Born to Run).

Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner by Dean Karnazes.  Dean is a legend- you can’t help but admire someone that orders & eats pizza during a run.

Fat Man To Green Man: From Unfit to Ultramarathon by Ira Rainey.  A great book that shows you can dream big & achieve your goals.

The Cool Impossible: The coach from Born to Run shows how to get the most from your miles- and yourself by Eric Orton.  There’s some great tips for running in here.

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.  Lots of people love this book.  I didn’t enjoy it very much to be honest.

Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness by Scott Jurek.  A good book full of practical advice & recipes.

The Art of Running:The Steve Prefontaine Story by Matthew Crehan (A Graphic Novel).  A great story that was unknown to me till I read this.  I didn’t expect to like the graphic novel but actually really enjoyed it.

Books I’ve been recommended but haven’t read yet:

Leave a Reply

