Exploring & training

I’m back into Marathon training and am getting myself fit & ready to go out to do the Nepal Marathon in November.  I think I’d be disappointed myself if I didn’t train as much as I can for this one.  I’m not after a PB or anything crazy like that; I just want to be as fit as possible to experience & enjoy those mountains (I’m not normally a big fan of hills).

I often find I get stuck to the same routes when I get into doing LSRs but I wanted something different as I’m determined to get more hills in my training and Darren aka @Runnersknees offered to draw me up a route over his side of London.

So after a boozy weekend with a friend that was visiting it was time to get my LSR done I headed out on the tube yesterday morning to start my run in Hampstead.

 

fullsizerender-47

img_7493
My Run from Nike+

As the route had been sent it as PDF & GPX files.I was using a GPX Navigator app (GPX Pro) for the 1st time to view the map Darren had drawn up but once I was started running it just wasn’t working for me so I went between the PDF & google maps.  This meant some of the run was a bit stop/start so I could work out where I was but I was in no hurry (once I was home & fed I played with the app a bit more & realised that within the app settings it had defaulted to ‘Never’ to use my location settings- not helpful lol).  I’ll look forward to using this app now I have the right settings on.

It was a great run around Hampstead Heath, a run up Swains Lane- a steep beast of a hill, then over to Primrose Hill, Regents Canal East to Little Venice, back to  do a lap of Regents Park and then Regents Canal West all the way along to Kings Cross.

It was a fab route.  I’d run bits of it before but there were new places too.  Running is a great way to explore your city so why not ask someone to make a route for you- it’s a fun way to see new places.

img_7476

I usually do out & backs from my house for an LSR….or for any run.  This was my first time going out on the tube to start the run & finished at a different station.  Once I finished the run at Kings Cross I went & got straight on the tube a bit soggy from a downpour & probably didn’t smell to fresh but hey…there’s much worse on the tube…perhaps avoid that at rush hour though 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re looking to find a new route to keep your running fresh & fun get a friend to make you a new route.  You could also try checking out strava or mapmyrun for routes in your area.

If you’re a Londoner & looking for new routes I’d recommend Runners Guide To London as it’s a great way to find new places to run.

Happy exploring x

 

 

Leave a Reply

