McFarland USA : Movie Review

MCF_Video_Poster2

As I’ve been a bit poorly the past week I’ve watched a few movies and one that was recommended to me was McFarland USA.  A Disney movie with Kevin Costner I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Some ‘real’ Disney movies can get a bit too cheesy & american but with spare time on my hands I thought I’d give it a go so I got on iTunes & downloaded it.

 

I absolutely loved it.

The thing I love most about this movie is that it is based on a true story.  It shows the power of running in bringing people together and changing lives.

Now I won’t give away all the details of the film so I’ll give just a small summary as part of this review:

Jim White (played by Kevin Costner) moves his family to McFarland USA as he has taken the position of Assistant Baseball Coach.  The family have some trouble settling into the area and Jim soon loses his position with the baseball team & finds himself as the PE teacher.  With both him & the kids both pretty disinterested they soon learn plenty of lessons from each other.  White soon discovers their talent for running and he brings them together to create a cross country running team.  Then we follow the highs & lows of the team and their dreams & determination to achieve them.

 

It’s a beautiful story giving an insight into how tough some peoples lives are but then also how amazing their lives can be.  It made me realise how lucky I am, although I do wish I had turned 15 in McFarland & had that kind of birthday party.  The movie shows how amazing running is & can help people realise their dreams; it can bring the whole community together and transform their lives.

tumblr_nocllo2DYh1tfnarlo1_1280

It is incredibly touching story & I would recommend having some tissues on stand by as I blubbed my way through about half of the movie.  I hope that doesn’t put people off….I think both guys & girls would love this movie.  If you’re a runner I think you’ll love it- you see both the struggles of life and the thrill of the race.

It is an inspirational story.  It’s wonderful to see how the real runners turn out at the end.

“When you’re in pain I want you to remember so is the guy next to you.  And the guy ahead of you.  It comes down to which runners here can handle the pain.  You look at them and then you ask yourself “Who’s tougher?”

McFARLAND
McFARLAND, USA..Coach Jim White on set w/ the real McFarland ’87 runners and current cross country team runners…Ph: Ron Phillips..©Disney 2015

 

I hope you all get downloading & enjoy the movie as much as I did!  Let me know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

